Home > Aspen installation > Pre-installation meetings & decisions (2 of 3)

Pre-installation meetings & decisions (2 of 3)


One of the next decisions I needed to make was about the GPS.  I decided to retain my KLN94 as my primary GPS. While there are other more capable GPS systems, I decided to keep what I have.  Weighing the additional cost of a newer GPS against where I’m at in my flying—I just couldn’t justify spending the extra money at this point. In addition, many of the non-WAAS features displayed on the newer GPS are now more readily available and presented in my direct field of view and more clearly on the Aspen MFD.

Next we discussed the Remote Sensor Module (RSM) placement. The RSM contains the magnetometer, back-up GPS and OAT probe.  As many who have had installations of magnetometer based systems, the placement of these devices is extremely important.  In the case of the Aspen multi-display installation there are two. One needs to be installed on the top of the aircraft with a clear path to the sky to ensure GPS reception for the back-up GPS. The other can be installed anywhere on the bottom or top of the aircraft.  We chose to install the top mounted RSM on the top of the fuselage just behind the passenger compartment and the other in the wing.

RSM and wing mount

RSM upper shim fabricated by Santa Fe Aero

RSM assembly - RSM installed in upper shim mount

RSM external mount behind passenger compartment

Categories: Aspen installation
  1. February 15, 2010 at 3:36 am

    As you watch everything coming together, I imagine your excitement level is pegged at 110%. Thank you for creating this blog and allowing us to follow your journey to an amazing new panel.

    Philip Wilson-Aerorush.com

  2. Walter
    February 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    In case of a PFD1000 failure, wouldn’t the MFD1000 receive it’s data (magnetometer, back-up GPS)from the second RSM? A bottom mounted RSM may have some problems receiving GPS signals.
    Regards

    Walter

  3. Bob
    February 15, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Great idea to give an example to follow. Would like to see you panel before and after.
    Am looking into installing just the PFD Pro in my Bonanza.

    Where can I find information on the “flush mount” option, mentioned in the February 2010 issue of the American Bonanza Society magazine page 38 (www.bonanza.org)?

  4. MikeK
    February 17, 2010 at 2:08 am

    I share Walter’s question about the second RSM. I’m planning a 3-screen installation in an SNJ-6, which has pretty limited real estate on the top of the fuselage, and the Avidyne antenna and the main GPS antenna will be competing for space with the two RSMs. Moving one to the bottom would be great, but then if I lost the top RSM, I’d lose the emergency GPS functionality.

  5. February 17, 2010 at 3:10 am

    I will not get back up GPS if the PFD fails. I made that choice because this situation would be a case where the on board GPS fails and the PFD fails I’d be stuck with no GPS. If one wants triple redundancy then the MFD RSM could be installed on top of the fuselage. Given the DA40’s curvature and the need for a big shim I decided that not having the GPS backup for the MFD was ok and that having the RSM in the wing made more sense. As always everything is a trade off.
    -John

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

